Yorkshire three peaks

The Three Peaks of Yorkshire is the collective term for the peaks of Whernside (736m), Ingleborough (723m), and Pen-y-Ghent (694m). These hills encircle the head of the Ribble valley in the Yorkshire Dales National Park.

The Yorkshire Three Peaks Challenge is the oldest of many three peaks challenges in the UK, and dates back to 1887. The Challenge is to begin at the Pen-y-Ghent Café in Horton-in-Ribblesdale, and complete the circuit of the three peaks within 12 hours. It is around 26 miles long, depending on the route chosen, and includes 1600 metres of ascent.

The slideshow below is a record of our attempt:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s